Font problem and fix

Oct 3, 2008 at 9:45 PM

Hello,

I've been using your software for around 8-9 months now, both on Windows XP (64-bit) and Vista Business (64-bit).  Shortly after you released version 0.9.1, I started getting .NET error messages, complaining about something with the system font Segoe UI.  The message would appear only if I changed desktops, and usually the program would crash after I hit ok.  On some occasions it would switch to the desktop anyway, though the Windows on the desktop would be inactive, and I wouldn't be able to do anything with them.  I assumed it was probably a bug with the software, however whenever I regressed a few versions, it would do the same thing.  Eventually, I came to realize that I didn't have much of a need for multiple desktops on my Vista machine, so I removed the software and left it at that.  Unfortunately, I don't have a copy of this error message or any of the debug output that accompanied it.

About a week ago, for some completely unknown reason, all of my system fonts became either bold, italic, or both, and would vary in size.  I hadn't changed any of the font settings so the actual cause of this is a mystery to me.  What is even more strange is that when I would go into the Color and Appearance control panel applet, the fonts would still be set to the system defaults, yet they wouldn't be displayed that way.  I did some looking around and found a discussion thread (listed below) where someone had written a registry key that would fix the font problems.  I downloaded the fix, merged it into the registry and after the reboot, all of my system fonts were back to what they were supposed to be.  I also noticed that some of the fonts that I had previously thought were italic by default, in fact, weren't, so it looks like this problem has been affecting me for quite some time.